Fender Super Tweed Build

Discussion in 'The Squawk Box' started by Cjsinla, Sep 23, 2017.

1. Cjsinla

Cjsinla Premium Member

Everything arrived from Weber today.
    IMG_1438.JPG IMG_1436.JPG IMG_1435.JPG

I'm already lost. Should I mount the choke in the middle or on the end?

IMG_1437.JPG

Attached Files:

Axis39 and eslover like this.
  2. eslover

eslover Senior Member

I'm paying attention to this, I want to build a tweed super but saving up the money is slow-going. I'm no expert on tweed era stuff, but I can see that's the "big" choke, filters entire power supply, and I've seen original tweed supers with them mounted on the end (with OT in the middle) and with it mounted in the middle.
    I think from a topology point of view, mounting it in the middle to me makes more sense keeps it close to filter caps. Just my opinion. Nice kit! Good luck, please keep us posted on developments....very exciting!!

Fred

3. Leña_Costoso

Leña_Costoso Senior Member

nice..... now go get some Zinnser amber shellac, and two rattle cans of lacquer at Home Depot and get the cabinet finished before you get it all grimy from assembly.

[​IMG]
    I did this one sort of lightly.

[​IMG]
    This one got a more pronounced finish.

BTW.... the Bassman is a 5F4, modified, using essentially the same transformers you have. It measures about 9.25v when I put 1k signal into it with perhaps... 2%-5% distortion (flat top wave). Do the math, and that is just short of 45 watts. The transformers, rectifier, and tubes will give you that (and a little more if you really push it). If you drive the split load phase inverter a little harder than stock, you'll get the wattage. Watch the bias over the "stock" 5F4 too. Only saying this because the Super is called a "20-30" watt amp, and... the measurements and math say way more.

4. Splattle101

Splattle101 V.I.P. Member

Nice Mercury OT. Is the power transformer Mercury too, or is it a Weber?