Fake Tokai

Discussion in 'Other Single-Cuts' started by 21stcsm, Nov 9, 2017.

1. 21stcsm

21stcsm Senior Member

2. xeizo

xeizo Senior Member

I'm no expert but I've never heard of anything but Love Rock, looks like a Chibson to me, but who knows?

3. elephantrider

elephantrider Senior Member

believe the 77 vintage tokai had les paul model on
    the headstock. after the 80's they moved to either
    love rock or reborn / reborn old. a 2012 version i
    seriously doubt, would have les paul model for the
    script. may not be fake, but that part was certainly
    changed.

4. 21stcsm

21stcsm Senior Member

Yea,and the white control covers.

and I asked for pictures of the headstock and it says "Made in Japan" but the print looks suspect etc. It's not even a good copy.

No way in 2012 would they have "Les Paul" on it. Gibson is hyperlitigious and that is textbook trademark infringement

I'm calling SHENANIGANS

5. elephantrider

yup. didn't most mij models come with the nashville type bridges ? this one has the
    slotted screw studs, so that may be another clue it's not original. i have a 2013
    reborn old and it's meh #1. just gotta be careful on not getting a fake, like anything
    else i guess.

..and agree, not possible for a 2012 to have that on the stock.

6. 21stcsm

21stcsm Senior Member

For the record... REVERB RULES. I called and spoke to a rep and he said they already had it flagged but he agreed it looked fake as #$(#($ and they would take action. I've called on a few counterfeits and they are always responsive, same with the "selling the guitar that's actually in somebody else's store" thing that Ebay largely ignores. Kudos to Reverb. I bet it will be gone soon.

bluesriffdev and rockstar232007 like this.
  7. elephantrider

nice. glad they took notice.

8. bluesriffdev

bluesriffdev Member

Other things to take notice of:
    • Inaccurate headstock shape