es rim glue

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Flyin Z, Sep 16, 2017.

1. Flyin Z

Flyin Z Member

I was going to use titebond original to laminate the 3- ply maple rims of about .050" thick each. I thought about using hide glue but afraid it will harden up before I get everything clamped. Perhaps fish glue will work. This is my first attempt. Any advice?

2. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member

titebond.....without question

3. Open_Book

Open_Book Senior Member

Cascamite is a very cheap UF glue and is used by some for such lamination applications as the open time is much longer. It dries rock hard like Hide glue, too. Its something else worth considering.

4. moreles

moreles Senior Member

With experience, any of those glues would work, but the safest and most reliable for those of us who do not build all the time and who do not have a personal preference would be Titebond, as Freddy says. I can't think of any downside to using it in this case, and it should work really well. Enjoy your build!

5. Open_Book

Open_Book Senior Member

Nothing unsafe or unreliable about cascamite and its a boon for someone without experience because of its longer open time.

6. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member

I have to agree. I only mentioned titebond only because it's the easiest to use and procure.

7. Open_Book

Open_Book Senior Member

I'm not against Titebond Freddy. Its just the OP mentioned using Hide Glue (you know that old story for the tonez...) and its open time. Cascamite is like the Fishglue (only better) of Hide glue with its open time when it comes to newbies and clamping.

8. Flyin Z

Flyin Z Member

What is this polyeurethan glue that I hear about? is it like two part epoxy?

9. The Ballzz

The Ballzz Senior Member

10. Joth

Joth Senior Member

How are you shaping the rims and clamping them to their final form? Will their shape after laminating be slightly reworked and rebent when put into the form when glued to the centre block?