Epiphone upgrades

Discussion in 'Epiphone Les Pauls' started by JoeM, Aug 26, 2017.

1. JoeM

JoeM Junior Member

Ok, so I have a Epiphone Special 2.
    I am going to do some upgrades, with the goal of it being "custom for me, by me" and future-proofing its purchase.
    I have been playing for 2 years, and I know some blues, country and punk rock/metal, so I want a general purpose guitar. I am running Erine Ball Cobalts, 10-46 usually.

I am going to replace the tuners. I already have Sperzal locking tuners on the shelf.
    I am gonig to replace the pickups. I have the Duncan hot rod set on the shelf.
    I'm not afraid of delicate woodworking.
    When done, my Dad-in-law will set up the guitar.

And I am going to redo the controls with CTS hardware.
    and with this last part come the questions.
    I only have 2 holes on this guitar so I have narrowed it to
    1) volume and tone for both pickups or
    2) tone for both pickups and master volume on a push-pull with coil split for both coils.

Which would you guys use?
    Also what tone cap do you guys prefer with these Duncans, or do you use a different value on each?
    I am going to add the tone bleed, and figure I can clip it out if I do not like it.
    What value of tone and volume pots do you guys find work well with these Duncans?

Thanks
    Joe

2. C_Becker

C_Becker Dat Gibson smell Premium Member

Depends on how much you use the tone knob, I have a Flying V where I have only volume for each pickup with a 500k resistor hidden in the cavity instead of a tone pot. That equals the tone pots being on 10 all the time. But its purely a metal guitar, so not much need for tone knob, at least not for me.

If you need a tone knob, I'd go with push-pull pots, so you can set volume and tone for each pickup, just like on a "normal" Les Paul. Seymour Duncans website has wiring diagrams for almost any configuration I can think of.

In general, Gibson uses 300k linear volume pots and 500k audio taper tone pots.