Epiphone Les Paul Standard Pro and shrill bridge humbucker

Discussion in 'Epiphone Les Pauls' started by davidrf, Jul 6, 2017.

1. davidrf

davidrf Member

Hi there, a friend of mine, total beginner, bought a 2014 Epiphone Les Paul Standard Pro, all stock. I tried it and I found the bridge pickup is a bit to shrill and "not together" with low to medium gain distorsions... I'm sorry but I don't know how else to describe that sound.

I always had only Gibsons Les Pauls and I never experienced a thing like that. Is it normal for the Epiphone stock pickups? Overall, I find the guitar pretty amazing for its price, but I couldn't play it being used to my Gibsons...

Any advice to replace the bridge pickup with something not expensive but good? A used JB? A used Alnico II Pro? Thanks in advance

2. sasquatch

sasquatch Senior Member

3. davidrf

davidrf Member

Thanks for the quick reply. I actually am not a big expert on Gibson pickups... In my Gibson Standard I have a Craig Vineham custom pickup set, an interpretation of his of some old PAFs. I just would like to find a good inexpensive pickup for this friend of mine, who is gonna play a lot of stuff in that range of distorsion where the Epiphone bridge pickup just doesn't sound right at all (IMO at least). :)

4. C_Becker

C_Becker Dat Gibson smell Premium Member

First thing I would try is adjusting pickup height and, if one string in particular is too loud adjusting the polepieces. Next you could try a 300k volume pot instead of 500k. Maybe a 47nF tone capacitor.

If all that doesn't help, JB/Jazz combination sounds good and isn't expensive

5. Jymbopalyse

Jymbopalyse Senior Member

Look's like you got all the answers here already.

First check the pickup height itself. I had a similar problem myself on my Trad-Pro, and that was the solution. The treble side of the pickup had taken a nose dive. At first I was trying to compensate using the tapped coils. Then someone here recommended I look at the pickup height.