Does anybody use CAPO on your electric guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by sweatyhand, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. sweatyhand

    sweatyhand Senior Member

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    I know some songs you have to use a capo when playing acoustic. I mean it helps a lot... so why not with electric guitars ??? I have rarely seen people uses them. Why ?
     
  2. dylan.rocks.all.nite.long

    dylan.rocks.all.nite.long Senior Member

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Because a capo is used to raise the pitch of open strings, and 99% of it's use comes in strummed chords. Electric guitars are generally used for playing melodies, where the way notes are played is entirely different. In short, you don't see capo's used on electric guitars because of the use of the instrument. This is not to say you can't use a capo, it just depends on how and what you're playing.
     
    SteveGangi likes this.
  3. Ed Zeppeli

    Ed Zeppeli Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    I do. Not very much and I don't get above the fourth fret often, but yep.
     
  4. Luka_Luka!

    Luka_Luka! Senior Member

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    I've seen people using capos on electric guitars, but I think people dont generally use them because electric gutiars tend to have lighter strings, and the capo will throw them out of tune with too much pressure.
     
    b-squared likes this.
  5. Ed Zeppeli

    Ed Zeppeli Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    That's a good point!

    I use .10s on all electrics so it's not as bad but you're onto something there. Mind you, it doesn't take much to quickly re-tune.
     
  6. Orange Lester

    Orange Lester Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    1,343
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    ocassionally, yes
     
  7. ext1jdh

    ext1jdh Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    6,191
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    I've used capos while playing electric. Usually because the parts I play mix rhythm with lead and need to accommodate key changes every few weeks.
     
  8. River

    River Senior Member

    Messages:
    57,250
    Likes Received:
    91,228
    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Yes. So did this guy:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. sweatyhand

    sweatyhand Senior Member

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    How interesting, thanks !!!
     
  10. b3john

    b3john Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    3,781
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Yeah, sure, but mostly for Stones songs. Keef uses them like crazy.
     
    mudfinger likes this.
  11. Strato

    Strato Banned

    Messages:
    12,807
    Likes Received:
    25,851
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Good evening brother River.You had the same fellow in mind :thumb: and he capo'd way up there.To answer the question,Yep,on occasion I try to bust loose like the iceman with one myself.:dude:
     
  12. tao_of_drew

    tao_of_drew Senior Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nVfSfIrHR8]‪Jimmie Vaughan‬‏ - YouTube[/ame]

    This guy uses one, and still rocks even with a broken string
     
    Strato likes this.
  13. b3john

    b3john Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    3,781
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    This guy made pretty good use of one:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. River

    River Senior Member

    Messages:
    57,250
    Likes Received:
    91,228
    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Good evening, brother Strat.

    [​IMG]

    The fact is, you can't get "Iceman" tone without one. They don't just support first-position fingering higher up - they have a dramatic effect on tone. One that pleases me no end.
     
    mudfinger, b3john and Strato like this.
  15. SteveGangi

    SteveGangi V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    29,056
    Likes Received:
    52,343
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    I don't use a capo now, but I have in the past and I do own a few. No, it's no elitist snob thing. If and when the situation arises I will use a capo just as quick as anyone else. I like using it on an acoustic, where you want the open strings to ring.
     
  16. Calen45

    Calen45 Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Which is the best capo for guitar?
     
  17. mudfinger

    mudfinger Thanks for the memories! V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    17,219
    Likes Received:
    50,325
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    I never use a capo, for the same reason I never use open tunings; I'm more than happy to spend my days looking for ways to get the sounds I'm after in standard tuning. It's a challenge sometimes, but that's part of my fun.

    That said, Some serious heavyweights, like Felder and Collins, have used them to great effect. Ain't no one particular way to play guitar right. :thumb:
     
  18. Job-Job type Job

    Job-Job type Job Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    4,192
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    I do when the need arises. Never had any issues doing so. I use a capo with adjustable pressure because those one-size-fits-all snap on kind can really blow your tuning.
     
  19. b-squared

    b-squared Banned

    Messages:
    21,129
    Likes Received:
    9,166
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Capos work fine on my Strat, and I've occasionally used them at church. For some reason it knocks my R9 out of tune, so I never use them on that guitar.

    BB
     
  20. ext1jdh

    ext1jdh Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    6,191
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    I don't like how a capo affects tone and sustain above the 5th fret. I try to avoid it there. It won't stop me, but I try to get around it.
     

Share This Page