Do I use DAW or Multi track recorder?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Nard, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Nard

Nard Senior Member

I use a Boss BR 80 to record my ideas and to me things sound ok. I'm not looking to produce a high quality demo or anything but I want the best I can get. The recorder came with Sonar LE 1X which I installed on my laptop but using it seems like a lot of work when the unit is a straight forward plug in and record. It has more built in effects than the Sonar as well as mastering. Like I said I want a decent result but I'm not sure which way I should proceed. Do I persevere with Sonar or carry on with just thr BR 80. Im new to this kind of thing so any input is welcome.

2. DarrellV

DarrellV Derl Ver.... ERMAHGERD! I'm a sercarstic BOT! Silver Supporter Premium Member

Usually the DAW software could be used for 'post production'.

In your case if you continue to use the Boss unit to record, you should be able to dump those tracks into the DAW to polish and edit them.

Most DAWS will import tracks that are not recorded inside of them, and usually a mfg will include something like that with the recorder unit to give the buyer more value and flexibility than the unit alone would provide.

You could, for example, record your tracks dry into the Boss and add effects to the guitar and vocals later, within the DAW.

If you don't like it, you can experiment with effects within the DAW that would be impossible if they were hard recorded on the Boss.

howardlo likes this.
  3. mdubya

mdubya Senior Member

I bought an M Audio DAW several years back. I spent way too much time fiddling with it and getting set up to record.

I bought a Zoom H1 digital recorder and now everything is so much better, so easy. I just record the sound live in the room with it. It can function as a DAW also, but I haven't bothered.

Also, I don't usually like the direct input recordings I hear. I prefer the sound in the room.

4. howardlo

howardlo Senior Member