Diagnosing new 60Hz/pickup issues...

Discussion in 'Tonefreaks' started by Paranoia, Jul 2, 2017.

1. Paranoia

Paranoia Junior Member

Howdy all.

Hoping to get a little help with the bridge pickup on my Les Paul - I plugged it in today and got that horrible 60hz hum through it, which I haven't had before in years of using it... I've spent a good chunk of the afternoon poking around in its guts, though I'm far from an expert at this stuff, and here's what I've found:

* The bridge pickup now gets 60Hz hum, which is eliminated when I touch a metal component, but gets louder when I touch a non-adjustable polepiece (disappears when I touch an adjustable one).
    * The bridge tone now is very thin, and very quiet - but is otherwise still outputting.
    * The neck pickup still works fine (as does the mid position, in that it's a combination of the neck and what little bridge there is).
    * I was working with steel wool nearby earlier, and did find a fragment magnetically attracted to a polepiece on the bridge pickup (it is not covered). I cleaned it up, unscrewed all the polepieces and brushed them down.
    * Still thinking steel wool, I opened the pickup up, pulled the magnet out and got a fine paintbrush in there to do some dusting, just in case. Everything was put together very tightly, and I can't see any actually having gotten in there, but while I had it open I also visually checked what joints and wires I could see...
    * I checked the switch, input jack and pots- all *looked* fine, but then perhaps they aren't... I used the little paintbrush to do some cleaning, though of course this won't help if there happens to be a bad joint.

Any ideas on what this could be, or what I could do to fix it? I did do some reading before posting this that did say sometimes solder joints can just go cold... I'm hoping this isn't a dead pickup.

In any case, any help you could provide is appreciated.

Last edited: Jul 2, 2017
  2. C_Becker