Considering buying a basket case 65 SG

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by tigger, Aug 5, 2017.

1. tigger

tigger Senior Member

I saw this on an ad, 3 hours drive away. I saw it kind of late so it might be already gone and the person didn't respond since yesterday. A presumed '65 SG Standard for 1800 euros (~$2100).

Moving from good to bad. I'm not a SG expert in any case so feel free to point out what I haven't seen.

Control cavities seem original, cavity routing is consistent with 65 or earlier, one pot that can be well seen dates to '63:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

The body looks fine. One thing I am slightly worried about is that it is really hard to see the holes from the original tailpiece, suggesting it might have been refinished. But, if you look good, you can still see them so perhaps not?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Pickups are correct patent no:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Bridge seems original to me, tailpiece is chrome, I assume from whenever the original was taken off.

Moving to the ugly parts.

[​IMG]
    It's hard to tell but there is some finish missing on the body-neck joint, notice black headstock and neck joint. Also, what seems like broken off nibs that took some part of the binding with it. Measuring the headstock angle on this photo gives 16 degrees. I think the camera position will increase the perceived angle so it probably is 14 making the guitar no earlier than a 65.

[​IMG]
    Yuck. It looks like the neck broke off and it was put in place and reinforced with two screws and painted over in black.

[​IMG]

Yuck X2. This must be the worst paint job I've seen. Looking at the spider webs it was either put on very dirty surface, or it isn't nitrocellulose at all. Crown hidden by the overspray, logo scraped in a horrible manner. This is clearly hiding a break, but in a strange place. As if the headstock itself broke rather than the headstock joint.

[​IMG]