Confused about multi tracking

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by drew365, Dec 9, 2016.

1. drew365

drew365 Senior Member

I'm a dinosaur. The last time I recorded multi tracks was on a 1/2 tape Tascam 80-8.
    I've been recording guitar parts on my computer for several years. I use a Presonus Audio Box 22VSL into a laptop with Mixcraft 7 loaded.
    Now, I'm wondering what I need to record a drum set with more mic inputs. If I get, say an eight mic input Presonus, can all those inputs be sent to my DAW through USB to separate tracks so I can mix them at a later time?
    If I can, is there any limit to the number of tracks I can record simultaneously via USB, other than the size of the interface I use?
    It seems like a dumb question, but I only have experience with a recorder that takes individual inputs to each track and I'm not positive what I can do with USB. Thanks for any help.

2. Pwrmac7600

Pwrmac7600 Premium Member

If you are asking if you can record using all 8 inputs of your interface simultaneously. I would say as long as you have a farly newer model computer with sufficient ram you should be ok. Then yes you can assign each input to its own track and mix them later.

3. DarrellV

DarrellV 1 Year old and 8K this month or bust! Premium Member

^^^^^^
    Yes, actually, that is the idea of multi input interfaces. Each port can go to a separate track and remain synced together as a whole.
    Normally you assign input to track within your DAW.

I have used the Presonus Firewire stuff before the USB came out, but it's got to work the same.

When you have finished recording those 8 inputs just rewind your DAW back to the beginning and add more tracks below your first 8 and re assign your inputs to those.

Oh, be sure to dis-arm the first 8 to protect them from over writing while you are recording your next set of tracks.

You should be able to cue (listen) to your original tracks while you record the next set, and so on.