Capacitor Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Tonefreaks' started by gtrwanka, Jan 21, 2009.

1. gtrwanka

gtrwanka Member

Hi

Im doing some upgrade on my les paul and I wanted your opinions or suggestions.

Im completely new to the whole capacitor thing so anything would be appreciated.

Im soon getting a set of Rio Grande humbuckers and was wondering what cap would work well with these and where I can get them?

2. WildeStarr

WildeStarr V.I.P. Member

Try no caps, thats what I do. I take em' out.

:thumb:

3. BCRGreg

BCRGreg V.I.P. Member

There are many opinions and nearly as many threads as opinions on this forum. Search a bit, you'll see what I mean.

4. b-squared

b-squared Banned

I installed a BBQ Humbucker in an MLP member's R8 tonight, and he had the .022 Luxe BumbleBee repros in it...sounded great.

Those are available at RS Guitarworks.

I also installed some WB Firewaters in his LP Traditional, and we used some .022 PIO Hyrel caps (like Vitamin Qs) from MLP member Jonesy...also sounded great.

Either way you can't lose.

BB

5. hillbilly

hillbilly V.I.P. Member

Gotta be careful with those Bar-B-Q 'buckers...those things are thick as a brick...

My suggestion is to go with an RS Guitarcap, which is transparent when the Tone control is on '10'...or no cap at all..

Yes, those pickups are that dark....

YMMV/My 2ยข/IMHO/void in Rhode Island:naughty:

6. gtrwanka

gtrwanka Member

Im confused. If I dont put a cap in, wont the tone knob not work?

What exactly is it that the cap does then?

7. b-squared

b-squared Banned

Hey Billy--we A/B'd the guitarcap vs the Luxe.

To our ears, the Guitarcap opened up up the pickup, but seemed to roll off some low end. We put the Luxe back in, and it brought it all back.

With my amp we liked the Luxe, but Jeff needs to run that guitar through the Bogner...that'll be the final call. :D

Thanks for help with that, btw. :dude::wave:

BB