Can anyone tell me about the differences in top carves?

Discussion in 'Historics & Reissues' started by ZWILDZR1, Mar 11, 2013.

1. ZWILDZR1

ZWILDZR1 Senior Member

I am interested in the differences in top carves of the Les Paul Customs. I have a 68 reissue and would like to know about the top carve that Gibson has used on the different years of the Customs. Like the 57 custom and the 68. Then the Norlin year guitars. I never really paid much attention to it before. When I got my first LP back in 79 I was like 16 and thought that all LP's must be the same other than the differences in trim. Then through the years I started learning that they all are not the same. I would really like to know more on this subject thank you.

2. Sct13

Sct13 Premium Member

The top carve is supposed to be a like a violin carve, but someone said that if you look at a woman's nude belly, its about the same shape. I can see it, and its prbably why we (men) love the super sexy shape of the thin waist and the top carve.

To compare them you need a tool that measure's (or copies) contour's. Its called a contour gauge. I have a few LP's so I have gauged these out with a contour gauge and did a little comparing. The results were disappointing there is very little difference between the factory done historics. They are CNC'd for the most part, not like they were done in the 50's. I also have an HM and they redid the top to match a vintage example at their shop and the difference is noticeable. Looks awesome.

Jer, rockstar232007 and KenG like this.
  3. Inside Guy

Inside Guy I am no longer @ Gibson V.I.P. Member

Norlin era LP Customs had more of a curve than a carve. It's lame, and it cheated the customer.

2 people like this.
  4. Sct13

Sct13 Premium Member

Do you mean less "Dish" and more of a "hump" or "hill?

5. CRobbins

CRobbins Premium Member

6. rockstar232007

rockstar232007 Senior Member