Can anybody explain suspended chords to me?

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by NewDayHappy, Nov 30, 2017.

1. NewDayHappy

NewDayHappy Senior Member

I have a very good understanding of minor chords, major chords and power chords but lately I've had the desire to start dressing up my chords and taking my learning further. I found a chord in a song I like, it was a B9sus2 and it just had a really beautiful sound that I liked and wanted to implement in my own songs. Can anybody tell me how to write songs with more suspended chords or just cool chords in general?

Yofresh likes this.
  2. jeff_farkas

jeff_farkas Senior Member

3. jeff_farkas

I know it's not perfect but it's a good start and that was a good question.

NewDayHappy likes this.
  4. NewDayHappy

That was very helpful! Now I know how to make suspended chords up from scratch. Any idea on how to implement them in a progression?

jeff_farkas likes this.
  5. jeff_farkas

No.. that's all I got for now. I'm just learning and that video is a big help for me.

NewDayHappy likes this.
  6. frankv

frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter Premium Member V.I.P. Member

Just use your ears. Forget theory

Sct13 and NewDayHappy like this.
  7. Sct13

Sct13 Gold Supporter Premium Member

Ears ....is right....

Hint:

Suspended means hanging

NewDayHappy likes this.
  8. Thumpalumpacus

Thumpalumpacus Senior Member

Suspended chords are great for setting up tension in a progression. If you want to get a good resolution, put a sus chord in the last beat prior to the resolving chord or cadence. If you want the listener to be unsettled, resolve to a sus chord.

The thing is that because they are neither major nor minor, the listener is kept on edge -- and that is the feeling you're wanting to use when writing something.