Build Thread - 61 SG

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by w666, Feb 14, 2010.

1. w666

w666 Senior Member

Wow, it sure is infectious in here! I've been hanging around for a couple of months now. I first blundered on by while I was completing a kit build, and I just liked it here. So I thought I would contribute and post my kit build experience:

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/luthiers-corner/74264-my-gfs-kit.html

And then I had "post partum" so to speak, so I began looking for another project. I enjoyed building my Les Paul, and I wanted to try again, but just did not have the confidence to take on a scratch LP build. So when George M started organizing his kit I jumped right in. And when it shows up it's going to become a 69 Deluxe (mini humbuckers) "clown burst".

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/luthiers-corner/60806-new-kit.html

So I found myself rooting around the shop looking for stock that might somehow be suitable for some kind of build. I found some mahogany that started to look like a neck, and some rosewood that began to look suspiciously like a fret board.

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/luthiers-corner/75037-rosewood-fretboard-grain-direction.html

Well, that turned out OK. So the next thing I know I'm at the exotic lumber dealer rooting through the cutoff bin for bits that look like a guitar. I can do this....it's easy! Just get some boards:

[​IMG]

And then cut away the parts that don't look like the guitar!

[​IMG]

2. EtriX

EtriX Senior Member

Hey you can build something cool from that :D:laugh2:

3. w666

w666 Senior Member

Now I should point out at this point that one of the driving themes throughout this build will be "thrift". First of all, I sent pretty much the remainder of my guitar budget to George, but also because this is my first scratch build, and I don't want to throw hundreds of dollars worth of lumber in the firewood pile if I screw it up.