Broken headstocks and 'better' tone

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Paranoia, Jul 12, 2018.

1. Paranoia

Paranoia Member

Righto, the latest in my long line of random things to look up is... broken headstocks!

What I found through my Googling was a good number of people stating that a broken headstock, when properly repaired, made the guitar sound better than it did originally. This was followed by a smaller minority saying they didn't notice any real change in tone in their repaired headstock, but I didn't find anyone saying that their (properly repaired) headstock made things worse.

What surprised me was, no matter what site I was on, nobody elaborated on what 'better' actually constituted. I'd imagine the glued joint could make things brighter, and I also imagine the effect could be somewhat simulated with a scarf joint (though there'd be less surface area glued as breaks are all jagged, and there'd be no splines), but this is all hypothetical, I've got no experience in this.

So, for those of you that have experience with this - what changed for you? This is just curiosity speaking, I'm not about to throw my Les Paul down the stairs. I don't know if that'd break my headstock, but it'd certainly break my heart!

DLRG likes this.
  2. Bobby Mahogany

Bobby Mahogany Senior Member

It all depends on the type of glue that is used.
    And if it's applied along or against the grain of the wood.
    I prefer Hot Hide Glue applied along the grain of the wood,
    but I'm a Classic Rock and Blues guy.
    For metal and hard stuff, Titebond applied against the grain of the wood seems
    to bring better results.

:shock:

3. judson

judson Senior Member

well if they sound better, why do they always bring a discounted price because of the break? :dunno:

4. Barnaby

Barnaby Senior Member