Boss DS-1... like it/hate it/DIY mods/ANYTHING

Discussion in 'Pedals' started by quentin, Apr 11, 2010.

1. quentin

quentin Member

Ok, I just traded in my Digitech DF-7 (the "distortion factory") for an original Boss DS-1. This may sound foolish as the Digitech (new) is worth two times as much, but I grew to hate it. Every setting was harsh and, well, the sound just wasn't that good. From what I've read about the DS-1 people seem to have mixed feelings about it, some wishing every shipment of them will sink to the bottom of the ocean and others who praise them to the point of obsession.

If there's one thing I've learned from this experience, it's that there is no "DO-IT-ALL" pedal, and yes, I am an amateur.

Thanks

2. Cpt_Gonzo

Cpt_Gonzo Senior Member

For me the DS-1 was always the "Standard" of the Distortion pedals. Since I have a Marshall DSL401 in my basement I only used it to replace the Overdrive of my MG practice amp, and that sounded pretty good. Of course, nothing compared to tube distortion, but that's not what it's supposed to do.

I've since then replaced the DS-1 with the OS-2 to have some more versatility in the sounds I can produce, and that pedal sounds even better...
    Love it how it really gives my DSL401 a kick in it's butt at higher volumes.

As for the trade, I'd say it was a good one. Less is sometimes better.

3. quentin

quentin Member

Thanks a lot, yeah I mainly use it for distortion when it's not really practical to crank my tube amp (Fender Pro Jr. has balls:thumb:) or when I need more than just the tube overdrive. For now I have no problems with it, but I heard the Keeley mod is a good thing

4. JMV

JMV Senior Member

I never liked my stock DS-1 I had, but the Keeley modded one I owned was incredible. Very harmonically rich and had no "can of bees" sound any more.

TKOjams likes this.
  5. onedaycloser

onedaycloser Senior Member