Best MIJ LP under $1200.00

Discussion in 'Other Single-Cuts' started by scott 351 wins, Sep 25, 2017.

1. scott 351 wins

scott 351 wins Senior Member

I'm fairly new to the MIJ LP guitars so I do not know all the makes and models that are out there.

I'm trying g to decide on my next MIJ LP. I have an interest in the Bacchus Duke guitar series and i have been speaking with a owner who has one for sale. I've read quite a lot on this series of guitars. I like the fact they are a 1 piece back and neck and no poly finish.

My question is what other makes and models are comparable to the Bacchus Duke that can be had for under $1200.00 new and used? I am using $1200.00 as my budget cap. By the way i own a 79 Tokai LS50 which i love but looking for a non poly finished guitar for next buy.

2. AbbeSauniere

AbbeSauniere Senior Member

Can't think of a MIJ guitar that sells for under $1200 that doesn't have poly. I would go for the Duke. I have a handmade Bacchus SG and it's one of my favorite guitars. The build quality and tone is crazy good. Although I did swap pickups and electronics. Hated the pickups and swapped electronics just for mojo(have a Creamtone Black Beauty Harness).

You might be able to find a Edwards LTS, but even those have a poly base coat. It is super thin though. I had 2 and wasn't a fan of the tones. Build quality was spectacular though.

scott 351 wins likes this.
  3. scott 351 wins

I am leaning towards the Duke, just like to hear others opinions. Thanks

4. bluesriffdev

bluesriffdev Member

Can very easily get a used MIJ for that money with all nitro finish. I just bought myself an Edwards E-LP-130ALS (all lacquer finish) with hardcase for $1000-odd AUD shipped to Australia, including paypal fees. I'll be putting up a review of it some time this week if you're interested scott, but I absolutely love it - and it only arrived a couple hours ago.