Best guitar lessons ??????

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by mikedstk, May 1, 2011.

1. mikedstk

mikedstk Junior Member

im a newbie.. Been lookin online for guitar lessons for beginners. Most of them seem to suck.. Can anyone recomend some quality lessons online...
    thanks.....

epi les paul standard plus top honeyburst.............:thumb:

I'll try and post some pics soon... damn she's sweeet....

2. mikedstk

mikedstk Junior Member

or would u say getting lessons from someone personally would be better?

3. skipper58

skipper58 Senior Member

try guitarjamz.com Marty Schwartz is an excellent teacher. Good luck in your quest to jam bro.

4. skynyrd67

skynyrd67 Senior Member

Another option is the old school approach, go to a local music store and get a book on guitar chords and start learning your major open chords first, then learn the major, 7th and minor bar chords. Pick up a TAB songbook of your favorite band it will have the chords to each song and start playing along with a CD. Learning from a teacher is a good thing, but also learning to develop your own music ear is a must IMO. A teacher can teach you all the notes, scales, chords, theory, but you have to develop your ear yourself and find your own feel for the music.

93LPStudio, Tazz3, Colquhoun and 6 others like this.
  5. RavenMadd

RavenMadd Senior Member

I agree with the above....also what kinda music are you playing ? ...if its hard rock /metal ...good beginner dvd's are a series called Metal Method by Doug Marks .......and remember ...spend at least a couple of hrs a day until you get a section of a lesson or song down ...till you move on .....the better you get ...the more time you spend with it .....sometimes you gotta say frigg the social time :)

Tazz3 and Colinm478 like this.
  6. mikedstk

mikedstk Junior Member