Beginner restoration/modding

Discussion in 'The Custom Shop' started by Itwaslupus, Feb 17, 2018.

1. Itwaslupus

Itwaslupus Junior Member

I found a really beat up les paul in my basement, after some help from these forums to identify it i'v decided I'd like to make a project out of it.
    Thing is, i'm VERY new to this sort of thing, so if anyone has any advice for a beginner restoration/modding project please let me have it, i'll post some progress pics once I get into it.
    EDIT: I'm not too dead set on building it with the best/most expensive parts, this is just a project to learn how to build and mod so that I can start doing fancy stuff in the future.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
  2. Tubejockey

Tubejockey Member

Let's start with some pics of what we are dealing with. Then move on to what you would like it to do when it grows up.

Bobby Mahogany likes this.
  3. Bobby Mahogany

Bobby Mahogany Senior Member

Yep!
    Pics please!
    :D

4. Itwaslupus

Itwaslupus Junior Member

It's pretty rough

Attached Files:

5. judson

judson Senior Member

i consider myself a beginner, but that would be perfect for you to start....

dont know the make, maybe a epiphone or a bradley or something but its from korea obviously.....so no problem if you screw something up .......this is what i would do

a) take it apart, everything
    b) for the pickups connected to the pots, dont cut any leads, get a soldering iron and only unsolder the leads so you can take the pickups out completely, same with switch but remove all electronics.
    c) take all the tuners off, your gonna need one more or maybe buy a new set.
    d) take all the plastic off
    e) looks like you took the neck off?

then start cleaning the body, the neck......everything and check to see if the neck is warped, twisted, see if truss rod is present and if it works....if the neck is shot dont know if it worth replacing the neck...

then start to decide what you should use replace or upgrade