BB King Box

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by db3266, Oct 30, 2012.

1. db3266

db3266 V.I.P. Member

I'm studying BB King :thumb: with my guitar teacher and I thought I would start a thread to see what additional input you may have on the BB King Box.

CAVEAT !! :) I am in no way an expert on music theory, so I am definitely looking for input and observations in this thread.

I'll work in the key of A for this thread, but of course, the pattern is repeatable for any key. I will refer to A7, D7 and E7 (oh, and by the way, I run this risk of getting this wrong so please correct me if needed!! :laugh2:)

The BB box constitutes 7 notes. For the key of A the tab looks like this;

--------------------------------------------------10----------11----------12------
    -------------10----------12----------13-------------------------------------------
    -11---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The pattern on the fret board looks like this.
    [​IMG]

The special thing about this pattern is that almost all of the notes fit very nicely over a I IV V blues progression meaning you can get access to the notes without changing hand position during the chord changes.

For the I chord (A7), the relative intervals are;

--------------------------------------------------10----------11----------12------
    -------------10----------12----------13-------------------------------------------
    -11---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    6th...........Root.............9...........min3rd..........4th...............b5...............5th

For the IV chord (D7), the relative intervals are;

maj3rd........5th.............6th..............b7..........Root.............b9...............9th