Barnaby's LP Scratch Build - Hand Tools Only

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Barnaby, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Barnaby

Barnaby Premium Member

Hey there!

This is my first attempt at building a guitar from scratch. What I will be attempting is as accurate a copy as I can manage of a ’59 Les Paul, but with a different top colour, inlays and headstock shape. There will be some other changes: I will use ebony, not use Brazilian rosewood for the fingerboard, I will let the control and switch cavities go all the way through the mahogany and, most significantly, perhaps, I will only be using hand tools. Not a single power tool will be employed in this build. :shock:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here’s the maple I will be using, which came from Northridge Hardwoods, plus the neck and body blanks (the fingerboard is a different one). The maple has a beautiful figure, I think. I will be building two guitars more or less simultaneously, by the way, learning from my mistakes on the first and trying hard not to make new, exciting mistakes on the second one. After this, I will probably take a break and try a couple of different instrument styles (a ukulele, a bass and some sort of Fender…possibly also an acoustic), then come back to the LP shape with new, shiny and improved skills and try for as perfect a replica of a ’59 as I can, complete with Brazilian board, old growth body and neck and all of the stuff like correct inlays and hardware. I may even try and age that one more or less convincingly. I’m not sure. The pair I am making now, however, will clearly not be mistaken for Gibsons, no matter how close they will, I hope, be in many details.