Advice, tips, help for me?

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by Destroythevoice, May 9, 2017.

1. Destroythevoice

Destroythevoice Senior Member

Hey guys, so I decided to upload a crappy video of me playing through a song just trying to adjust to the jazz 3 picks... as well as my new 7 string. Ultimately though this is my story...

I've been a guitarist for about 10 or 15 years on and off.. I am a vocalist before anything.. but guitar is my pleasure when I am able to do both at the same time... Now for how long ive been playing im often discouraged when i see kids who can play FAR better than me and theyve played way less time than I have.. So I often will just stare at my guitar.. or play the same basic crap I already know.

I am honestly looking and hoping to push forward from this.. break my barrier and learn my fretboard and just dance with the frets. Any guidance is greatly appreciated..

If anyone can help me via guitar pro 5.. even better.. or have good tip videos.. etc. Id forever be in debt. As a metal guitarist I find im most interested in learning jazz, blues, and classical styles of playing... I want to explore the roots of where it all began. I want to understand how these artists come up with certain licks.. why they chose certain notes.. patterns.. etc.

Thanks! Heres my crappy video for reference in where im at.. forgive me its extremely simple.

Stoli likes this.
  2. JonR

JonR Senior Member

1. Stop apologising! (It sounds like fishing for compliments. Like, you're not that bad really...;))

2. Don't be discouraged by people who are better than you. However good you get, there will always be people better than you, and many of them (irritatingly) will be younger than you. (Hey, it gets worse as you get older....) I'll bet most of them can't sing as well as you, right? ;) Basically, don't compare yourself with anyone. You're on your own path, you're not in a race.