Advice for ear training?

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by I Break Things, Feb 25, 2017.

1. I Break Things

I Break Things Senior Member

Hi, everyone. I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I don't post many threads.

I've been playing guitar for about 3 years now, and I want to start learning songs by ear. Here are the problems for me...

1) I have some deafness in the bass range.

2) Most of the songs I enjoy are fairly fast and/or heavily distorted. I LOVE distortion! But it makes it harder to pick things out.

3) I'm more of a rhythm player, so I mostly like to play chords and that seems to be a bit harder to learn than single notes, especially when you add in the heavy distortion and power chords shifting about and then weird things get thrown in.

4) Also, my knowledge of music theory is pretty minimal and I have no idea where to really start, so I have to just fidget until I get it right. Advice in where to start and some resources for this would be greatly appreciated as well.

Thank you in advance and have a great day, everyone!

2. LenPaul

LenPaul Premium Member

take some singing lessons, best ear training there is.
    The old saying,,, if you can't sing it, you can't play it.

3. Who

Who are you? Who who who who.... Premium Member

I'm interested in this, also.

I often can't tell between two sounds, which is higher or lower.

It has me hunting around the neck. Am I "tone deaf"? Is this common?

I feel like other people can probably tell the difference. Yes, plenty of notes are obvious, where one is lower than the other.... but I can hear a B and an E (for example), and not only not know what note or chord I'm listening to, I also can't tell which is a higher pitch.

It's only when I find it on the guitar that I can tell it's the same as what I'm hearing.

And no, I can't tune a guitar by ear. That skill astounds me.