1954 Gibson Les Paul GT converted to 1960 specs

Discussion in 'Vintage Les Pauls' started by Syrjosh, Nov 17, 2009.

1. Syrjosh

Syrjosh Member

Hi all,

This is my first post on mylespaul.com, but certainly far from the last one :)

I am coming round because I have just spotted what seems to be a really sweet axe and would love to get your opinion on it.

It's been on sale for a good while, but the seller has now reached a point where his price got reasonable, at least in my view, considering that I'm far from an expert in the field of older LP's converted to 58-60 specs... unlike many of you guys, hopefully.

As the seller has advertised for this sale in a pretty extensive fashion, it is quite likely that some of you have already seen this axe, even maybe on this very forum despite my own searches, in which case links to relevant discussions would be very welcome. The only thing I could find here was this : http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/vintage-les-pauls/29658-54-60-conversion-tgp.html

As you'll see, this "conversion" was pretty heavily modified, which makes it quite difficult for me to make up my mind and form an objective idea over how much this is worth investing into. I would love to know how much you think it is worth but any other form of feedback will be extremely welcome so I can best assess the value of this LP.

Here are its detailed specs, any questions welcome!

Cheers!
    Syrjosh

1954 Les Paul Model Gold Top
    "54-60 conversion"
    Refin end 60's / beg 70's
    The table has its joint in the center
    Pickup cavities were enlarged to welcome PAFs
    Neck was slimmed down to 60's profile
    No neck reset
    Recent pro refret
    Was converted to lefty at one time, without causing any damage (bridge inserts did not get re-drilled)
    Original Centralab pots
    Original caps
    "Pigtail Aged" lightweight tailpiece
    "Grover" Nickel tuners beg 60's
    "Vintage Clone" pickup rings & pickguard
    Recent (Gibson?) ABR-1 bridge