Les Paul Forums
Homepage - Sponsors - Subscription - Auctions - Advertise - Spy  

Go Back   Les Paul Forums > The Les Paul > Vintage Les Pauls > Vintage SG
Click to visit LuthierTalk.com   LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter
  

Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By Core
  • 1 Post By SKATTERBRANE

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-05-2012, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 510
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

1962 Gibson SG Les Paul Standard | eBay

Item number: 170833228444

From first glance seems like the same thing as the ebay scammer Linz719 from a few months ago only he's not stating to pay with only wire transfer this time.

This seller is using a resurrected old account with little feedback but selling a high dollar 1962 Gibson SG Standard for a beyond seems to-good-to-be-true cheap price. $3500 with 19 hours left. This guitar should be in the 12K + range from the looks of it.

Serial number 71432. Is this anyone's SG from the forums? If so I apologize in advance. Seems I've seen these pictures before. Would like to know if it's legit or not. Not for my sake but for any of you guys out there looking for an early SG.

Anyone bidding on this from MLPF be aware and do your research. Hopefully it's one of our own and not a scammer.

EDIT* Add seen here. Location Dallas (ebayer address stated as Bridgeport CT.) posted around same timeframe.
Same Pictures as Ebay auction.
http://dallas.backpage.com/MiscForSa...ndard/17002822

AND here. Different price same ad and pictures appear to be from same shoot.
http://www.buylespaulstandard.com/19...Sale_2412.html

And Craiglist in London
http://leeds.craigslist.co.uk/msg/2929144068.html

Listed Feb 29th for $2400
http://boston.backpage.com/MiscForSa...ndard/19564755

Now I found this add stating guitar was sold in 2008 for approx $9700 and these ARE the same pictures. This may be the genesis of this current ad as it states it was sold and the fact that there are several ads between at least two different countries with all very different prices. Even the same text but this time it has more of the whole story and not "edited" in these new ads.
http://www.guitar-museum.com/guitar-...-Paul-Standard
Actinic, SoWhat? and OBX351 like this.
Core is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Les Paul

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Les Paul Forums
   
Unread 05-05-2012, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21,441
Thanks: 603
Thanked 549 Times in 185 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

If one pays with Paypal or a credit card, they are protected.
SKATTERBRANE is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2012, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21,441
Thanks: 603
Thanked 549 Times in 185 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

I know many of my old auction pictures and text have been used many times and places. SOme of them are used on Chinese guitar sites to market their firewood. I also know many of my listings have been used by account hijackers to sell something they do not have to sell.

If this one is a scam, I am wondering how they will get their money as long as a Paypal account is used. Maybe some of these Paypal refunds are not recovered by Paypal, and they treat it like an insurance company does. Win most, lose a few.
SoWhat? likes this.
SKATTERBRANE is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2012, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 510
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

They should be protected for at least 45 days if the bidder never gets the guitar. Maybe that's why this guy is shotgunning ads, hoping one will take. Just doesn't seem legit to me. The deal I went through with the seller I mentioned above was he had stated in the payment options to take PayPal only to retract that from the ad before auction ended. Not sure how he did that but I know you have to state payable by PayPal in order to list right? Then when it came time to pay he states wire only. Big no no with Ebay.

I've done wire transfer (if that ends up the case here) deals in dealing with cars, just sold one like that and bought one years ago like that but correspondence and getting comfortable with the buyer/seller is key.
Core is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2012, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Shediac, NB Canada
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 4 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

@Core: Are you going to let eBay know about this listing?
krall is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-08-2012, 01:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 510
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

Shoot had so much going on this weekend. Didn't want to jump the gun in case the remote chance it was one of us but looks like they took it down anyway.
Core is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2012, 11:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Dolebludger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 3,910
Thanks: 11
Thanked 21 Times in 8 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

Some of those prices are UNREAL low. Raises my suspicions. Unless the prices for vintage SGs have fallen way below my last check, something is very wrong here
__________________
'62 Gibson LP SG Standard
'09 Epi Goldtop LP P 90
Two Carvins
Custom Strat
Electra Strat type
Hondo Longhorn
Durango Guitar Works "Contender" (ask me about this one!)
Sterling SUB AX3 (ask me about this one too)
PRS SE "Orianthi"

Genz Benz El Diablo 60 TS.
Bugera V22
Dolebludger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-13-2012, 10:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
OBX351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Washington, DC Area
Posts: 1,418
Thanks: 80
Thanked 128 Times in 32 Posts
Re: At it Again? Possible Ebay Scammer 62 SG Standard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Core View Post
1962 Gibson SG Les Paul Standard | eBay

Item number: 170833228444

From first glance seems like the same thing as the ebay scammer Linz719 from a few months ago only he's not stating to pay with only wire transfer this time.

This seller is using a resurrected old account with little feedback but selling a high dollar 1962 Gibson SG Standard for a beyond seems to-good-to-be-true cheap price. $3500 with 19 hours left. This guitar should be in the 12K + range from the looks of it.

Serial number 71432. Is this anyone's SG from the forums? If so I apologize in advance. Seems I've seen these pictures before. Would like to know if it's legit or not. Not for my sake but for any of you guys out there looking for an early SG.

Anyone bidding on this from MLPF be aware and do your research. Hopefully it's one of our own and not a scammer.

EDIT* Add seen here. Location Dallas (ebayer address stated as Bridgeport CT.) posted around same timeframe.
Same Pictures as Ebay auction.
1962 Gibson SG Les Paul Standard - dallas misc for sale - backpage.com

AND here. Different price same ad and pictures appear to be from same shoot.
1962 Gibson Sg Les Paul Standard

And Craiglist in London
http://leeds.craigslist.co.uk/msg/2929144068.html

Listed Feb 29th for $2400
boston - misc for sale - backpage.com

Now I found this add stating guitar was sold in 2008 for approx $9700 and these ARE the same pictures. This may be the genesis of this current ad as it states it was sold and the fact that there are several ads between at least two different countries with all very different prices. Even the same text but this time it has more of the whole story and not "edited" in these new ads.
1962 Gibson SG Les Paul Standard - Guitar museum
WOW! nice research! It's only been about 5/6 weeks and it looks like it may have been pulled. I don't see it in completed auctions.
OBX351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook   FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter

Our Network: Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Marshall Amp Forum | Music Gear Forum | 7 String Guitar Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

MyLesPaul proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2006-2013, MyLesPaul.com. All Rights Reserved.