The 17 degree headstock angle

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by BentheMighty, Mar 15, 2012.

1. BentheMighty

BentheMighty Senior Member

I see this get mentioned in Gibson literature and then in a video with Gibson endorser Jon Schaffer, he comments how the headstock angle is an integral part of the sound.

What exactly does it do? I am very aware of the thin wood between truss rod channel and the outside world. Does the 17 degree angle have anything to do with the fragility?

I was thinking the headstock is angled for string pull, but alot of guitars don't advertise the headstock angle as an integral part of the sound.

Maybe I'm a noob, but a curious one.

2. RayL

RayL Senior Member

I am not sure, but apparently the increased angle increases the pressure of the string pushed on the nut, kinda like bring the tail-piece. Gibson advertises it as a plus for sustain.

But this is the very same company that says Nitro Finish is durable lol

1 person likes this.
  3. mudfinger

mudfinger Thanks for the memories! V.I.P. Member

Angling the headstock away from the plane of the fretboard increases pressure between the sting and the nut, the idea being to increase sustain. Look at pictures of medieval and renaissance lutes for an extreme example of this idea.

There's nothing magical about 17 degrees; other makers use less, some use more.

2 people like this.
  4. HOT-BRIT

HOT-BRIT V.I.P. Member

Just an other myth that has been propagated by cork sniffers

3 people like this.
  5. Ginger Beer

Ginger Beer Senior Member

I've seen strats that sustain for days, fwiw.

Gibson has no explanation for this phenomenon.

1 person likes this.
  6. Daniel

Daniel Banned

Headstock angle does make a difference in sustain and tone...

How much though is any voodoo witch doctors guess.

7. KenG

KenG Senior Member