2014 Melody Maker vs LPJ series. Which would you choose?

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by User 01001010, Feb 1, 2014.

1. User 01001010

User 01001010 Senior Member

I'm thinking of picking up another guitar. I just started playing again after 14 years (and when I played before, I was a bass player). I did pick up an Epi studio earlier this month and I wil need at least 2 for when I start playing out again.

Being a Gibson/Epi whore I just can't do fender or anything else but Gibbys and Epis.

So now I have a chance to pick up either an LPJ or a '14 Melody Maker. Both are only separated by $10 in price, the problem is, I've only been able to play an LPJ since no stores around me have the Melody Maker in stock. So I have no clue as to how it plays.

I have no desire to spend more on a studio or anything else, just between the LPJ and MM.

I don't need anything above the "entry level" gibsons since the type of music lends itself with rowdy crowds in dive bars (punk).

So the question is simple. Just those two models, which one is the better of the two in the respect of those who have knowledge of both models.

I'm not looking for suggestions on other models just these two.

Thanks.

2. Malikon

Malikon BigDumbMonkey V.I.P. Member

"Better" is rather a subjective word.

But the LPJ will be full sized while the MM is a thinner and lighter guitar.

The 2014 MM has p90 pickups I believe whereas the LPJ will have humbuckers.
    The bridge on the MM is a wraptail where the strings go in 'backwards' and fold back wrapping over the bridge.
    The LPJ will have a ToM which allows for more accurate intonation.

They look similar but they're two pretty different guitars.

What kind of music do you want to play with the guitar?

Personally I'd use the MM for blues, rock and punk type stuff
    And the LPJ for blues, rock, and metal.

3 people like this.
  3. 02589

02589 Senior Member

As Malikon said, they are two different beasts.