Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By damndirtyape71
  • 1 Post By kingedb
  • 1 Post By redcoats1976
  • 1 Post By RonGibson
  • 1 Post By RonGibson
  • 1 Post By walter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-22-2012, 09:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

Fender Super Champ XD vs X2

I am a former working guitarist from the 90's (gigs/teaching/endorsement/ product specialst) who now is a very serious hobbyist. I'm a rock guy, with Eric Johnson, Bonamass and Allan Hinds as my grail tones.

After a short courtship with a Vibro Champ XD, I was in love with the portability and versatility of the sounds and amp voicings. I started noticing via You Tube that the XD had the Blackface Channel 1, as well as the amazing voicings as the VCXD. I was sold.. However, the XD has been discontinued so I took a drive to my local music retailer, and tried the X2.

My thought after about an 1 hour of various noodling and tinkering. I didn't like it. Why?

- The tap tempo is clumsy. I couldn't get it to get the timing down (mind you I've got a EHX Memory Man with Hazarai and a Flashback, so setting tap tempo isn't really a challenge. Just couldn't lock in with it.

- The voicings (namely #3 ) were weak, even compared to the 5 watt Vibro Champ I just prefered that compressed grit. The X2 didn't give it to me at all.
(#7 Deluxe 65) was a disapointment, I was expecting a bit more honk on that voicing. (14 and 15 the metal voicings were just mud.)

- The effects were almost digital sounding to my ears. I wonder if the FUSE integration effected that..

- No Middle selection switch was added to the X2.

- The FUSE intergration is not the full capacity as the G-Dec and Mustang. You can create presets to load onto the amp but the amp presets won't appear in what would normally be the preset window. Why? If you are going to do it, do it right.

- Doesn't come with a USB cable. Mustang does.