• 2 Post By Hector Arcadius
  • 1 Post By rwhammond
  • 1 Post By switchback
  • 1 Post By Tobacco Worm
  • 1 Post By StandingWave
  • 1 Post By rwhammond
  • 1 Post By StandingWave

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-21-2012, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)

Catalinbread Manx Loaghtan Fuzz Review

I had recently purchased this pedal and had really high hopes from various demos I had heard. Sadly, it didn't quite meet my expectations.

Last Friday my Catalinbread arrived and I was overjoyed. I had spent a few days listening to demos and couldn't wait to plug it in and start playing. I pulled out my Les Paul and turned on Marshall and set everything up.

I started with all of the dials at 12 o'clock as i usually do when I get a new pedal so I can learn what they all do. I struck a A5 chord and though wow, this sound pretty good. It had a good overall distortion sound, but it seemed to be lacking in what I had heard in the demos. I started playing a few licks throughout the neck and nothing special was really standing out to me. I shrugged and thought, everything is set to 12 o'clock, perhaps if I get to know these knobs I can dial in something sweet.

If you know anything about this pedal, it comes equipped with Baxandall tone control. Basically, if you dime the treble and bass and you get a scooped midrange, if you back them off and turn up the volume, your midrange increases. This is one of the reasons I purchased this pedal.

With both the treble and bass wide open I got a really harsh sounding distortion, and after just purchasing an MI Audio Crunch Box, this sound really turned me off. I switched between the bass and treble knobs to make adjustments to find something usable. It sounded very muddy and I had hoped to hear more fuzz then distortion, unfortunately this wasn't the case for me.