Les Paul Forums
Homepage - Sponsors - Subscription - Auctions - Advertise - Spy  

Go Back   Les Paul Forums > The Les Paul > Epiphone Les Pauls > Other Epiphones
Click to visit LuthierTalk.com   LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter
  

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-31-2011, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

I have stumbled on this 2010 Epiphone Elitist Casino in Vintage Sunburst. It seems that at around $1k it's a great deal as the new ones now sell for $1800. However, I noticed that the seller has sold quite a few of these exact guitars every few weeks or better. If you search his feedback, you can see this. Probably why there aren't any bids.

Anyway, does the guitar look legit? Any help/opinions would be greatly appreciated. As I couldn't get eBay links to work, please just search the item number: 260758673880.

Thanks
CSIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Les Paul

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Les Paul Forums
   
Unread 03-31-2011, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
diceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montana
Posts: 29,930
Thanks: 1,212
Thanked 419 Times in 83 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

Looks good to me, brother. Best of luck w/ the auction! I've owned 2 Elite/Elitist Les Pauls, but never one of the hollow bodies. I've played a couple of the Elitist Casinos and they were fantastic!
diceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2011, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

Dice, thanks again for the reply. But does the fact that he has sold quite a few of these 2010 Elitist Casinos every few weeks kind of raise a red flag in your mind? Granted the guitar looks good.

The buyers all gave great feedback but it just seems sort of odd don't you think?
CSIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2011, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
diceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montana
Posts: 29,930
Thanks: 1,212
Thanked 419 Times in 83 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

I suppose that he could have bought out someone's inventory when the model was discontinued...

Guitar looks right, case looks right...
diceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2011, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
diceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montana
Posts: 29,930
Thanks: 1,212
Thanked 419 Times in 83 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

Actually, that is a bit strange, eh?

Anyone know what year Elitists were discontinued?
diceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2011, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

True. I may post on the Gibson forum if I ever get the foolish confirmation from them. The guitar does look correct, you're right. And his feedback is good. I will let you know what happens.
CSIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2011, 04:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

The Elitist Casinos are still being made from what I understand. They are still on the Epiphone website. I just sent the seller a question about his selling Elitist Casinos every few weeks. Let see what he says...
CSIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2011, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dennis g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Surf City, USA
Posts: 620
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSIII View Post
The Elitist Casinos are still being made from what I understand. They are still on the Epiphone website. I just sent the seller a question about his selling Elitist Casinos every few weeks. Let see what he says...
Elitist Casino's are still being made (it's the only Elitist still in production) and it's one hell of a guitar. I've had one since September of last year. I waited five MONTHS for it from order date. My Sweetwater rep told me they get them in "once in a while", so yeah, a guy selling one every few weeks is a bit suspect to me.

That said, if it's legit for $1K, grab it (although that sounds strange too because while they just went up to 1800, they were 14-1500 for quite a while. Make sure it's not the IBJL rather than Elitist.

Edit: OK, lazy first time, just looked at the listing on ebay. It looks legit to me based on a comparison with mine, including the case & case "candy" such that it is. There's a thread on the Epi forum where you can put in the serial # & it will tell you the where/when made info. Maybe take the link and an internet connection when you go look if he won't give you the # beforehand.
__________________
You can't have too much horsepower or too many guitars!

Last edited by dennis g; 03-31-2011 at 06:56 PM.
dennis g is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-01-2011, 11:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

Here's something new. My email exchange with seller fasteaglevf41:

Q: Question as to the authenticity of the guitar. I find it very curious that you are selling this same model 2010 Epiphone Elitist Casino every few weeks or so. Why is that?

A: It is an authentic 2010 Epiphone Elitist - I never sell blemished items, factory seconds or imitations. Check my feedback.

Followup Q: Can you send me a clear photo of the serial number on the headstock and in the F hole? Do the numbers match?

No reply since yesterday. He replied to my first message within 30 minutes.

I sent the followup question by replying to his first message. However, and this is interesting, I first tried to send the followup via the auction page and asking a question. However, when I tried that I got this eBay message:

info:
We're sorry we couldn't find an answer for you. Unfortunately, this seller is not able to respond to your question. We suggest reviewing the item again to see if your answer is in the seller's listing.

What is this? It seems that the seller has blocked me from asking him questions??? (Probably from bidding too.) I can ask other sellers questions via auction pages. I've been on eBay since 1997 and have never seen this.


Wow, this makes you think thrice.





CSIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-01-2011, 11:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need Help with Epiphone Elitist Casino

Just for the heck of it, from his (100% perfect) feedback, I just emailed 6 of his past buyers for this guitar with the message below, let's see what they say. Most have feedback of under 50. Hmmm...

Hi, I noticed that you bought a 2010 Epiphone Elitist Casino from fasteaglevf41. Have you checked to make certain that it's authentic? Any problems with the seller? I asked one question about authenticity and he blocked me from asking him questions?

I ask because I am also interested in purchasing a 2010 Epiphone Elitist Casino from him. Any help is appreciated.


Best
CSIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.


LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook   FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter

Our Network: Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Marshall Amp Forum | Music Gear Forum | 7 String Guitar Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

MyLesPaul proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2006-2013, MyLesPaul.com. All Rights Reserved.