![]() |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 124
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
|
Goldie #84 Scam!
Hello everyone...
i purchased Goldie #84 some time ago and I'm very pleased with the guitar. Unfortunately, the guitar is posted everywhere and is a SCAM! I spend so much time reporting the ads when i see them...is there anything i can do about this? I also wanted to post it on this forum, as i don't want someone to fall into this trap. Most of you know that it is a scam due to the super low price of the guitar when advertised. Any help would be appreciated! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members. Register your free account today and become a member on Les Paul Forums |
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Banned
![]() Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21,441
Thanks: 603
Thanked 549 Times in 185 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
This sort of thing happens a 100 times a day to many, many different Les Pauls, or anything of value. Don't worry yourself sick over it. Your example is like one grain of sand on a beach.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 124
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Thanks for the responses! Below is the original ad placed on ebay. I didn't purchase the guitar for close to that price. Either way, these are the pics that show up everywhere. They don't do the guitar justice. A small pic in my avatar shows the flame pattern on this baby. The seller sent me better pics when i explained what I wanted. In a way, it helped me secure the guitar for an excellent price. Hope the link works:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Collectors-C...item3f10efb5ec Thanks everyone! |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Frankfurt/Main Germany
Posts: 1,551
Thanks: 56
Thanked 16 Times in 6 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
i don't know if this ebay user's account gets hacked every 3 weeks or so but he always offeres high end guitars at about reasonable prices. His feedbacks show nothing to worry about. What you can see is that he received a feedback on the sale of # 84 already, the feedback appears to be legit. I would really love to get an explanation for this.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Frankfurt/Main Germany
Posts: 1,551
Thanks: 56
Thanked 16 Times in 6 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
do you mean my question? As i wrote, this guy sells stuff like this frequently and his feedbacks show nothing scary. I'm not saying that the auction is legit, i only wonder how fraud is commited by this guy
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: lakewood,OH
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 36
Thanked 7 Times in 2 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
It looks to me like it did not sell, all offers were declined and one expired. If it were a scam you'd think they would have accepted one of the offers. I'm confused, $7500 is a "super low price"??? Not to me...
__________________
2007 LP R7 Ebony w/factory bigsby, Gloss 2005 LP R8 Plaintop, washed cherry sunburst, Gloss 2003 LP Elegant Quiltop, butterscotch, Gloss 2001 LP Standard, Raw Power, Satin 1998 LP R8 Flametop, vintage red, Gloss 1997 LP R8 Plaintop, vintage red w/factory bigsby,Gloss 1965 Hagstrom II, baby blue Marshall AVT50H+4x12CAB Epiphone Valve Jr. |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Frankfurt/Main Germany
Posts: 1,551
Thanks: 56
Thanked 16 Times in 6 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
i am observing this guy's auctions since several months and the pricing mostly is a little lower than the market is in that time but not very low
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 124
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Hi everyone...I'm hoping this works, as I never post pictures of my guitars. Either way, I did purchase the guitar from the seller and CC2 084 does belong to me. I love the guitar!!! Not the best pics...
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Bartlett Retrospec Member
![]() Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,105
Thanks: 35
Thanked 26 Times in 14 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Your pictures didn't show up.
__________________
2010 Epi Les Paul Trad Pro | Bordeaux | 2000 Squier Strat | Barney 2003 Squier P-Bass | Boomer | 2010 Epi DR-100 | Brownie "Die 4 U" now available at Bandcamp |
|
|
|
|
|
#18 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Anaheim, Ca.
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
So I'm not sure, is yours real? You don't know? Or it is definitely fake?
If its fakel, only you, well now us are aware of that, she is a beauty and if it sounds half as good as it looks...it could be the next guy's gibby, if ya get me. But if she's a great player and brings all the '59 vibe its still gonna make guys like me (who can't afford one) with our tongues on the floor. Even if it made out of partical board and sawdust.lol jk
__________________
]ack be nimble, Jack be quick...Big Effing Deal. Can he ROCK??? ![]() http://thesmokinguitar.com/ |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 65
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Hello everyone! I sent a message to Rob trying to find out if this is a scam or not.The guy here in Europe asks for 2.500 euros for this guitar so i thought something is wrong.Siad he wouldd send it with GLS but when i asked him how he wants to be paid he never replied.I dont understand how someone can pull a scam like this
|
|
|
|
|
|
#22 (permalink) | |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Frankfurt/Main Germany
Posts: 1,551
Thanks: 56
Thanked 16 Times in 6 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#23 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 124
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
When you do a google search, there are many of the ads with the original ebay pics. Mostly Europe. I've written them and some responded. When i asked for specific pics, there was no response.
Either way, I'm pleased with the guitar!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#24 (permalink) |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Damn I saw this too late. I was on the phone with a guy who named himself Frederick Grunewald and he sold me Goldie #84. It really is a scam and cost me 2300 euro. The scam is well done and Frederick even copied the forms of the shipping company GLS. He even seemed to have access to the shipping company's database as well.
So I lost a lot of money on this. Remember never do business with Frederick Grunewald and never ever buy Goldie #84 Let's make sure that this guitar with this serial number never can be sold on the market again. Really these scam people are sick! |
|
|
|
|
|
#25 (permalink) | |
|
Banned
![]() Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Honduras
Posts: 16,586
Thanks: 2,081
Thanked 900 Times in 238 Posts
|
Re: Goldie #84 Scam!
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|