My Les Paul Forums
Homepage - Sponsors - Perks - Auctions - Advertise

Go Back   My Les Paul Forums > The Les Paul > Gibson Les Pauls
  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2009, 06:33 PM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
rockstar232007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

A clear shot of the front of the HS would be the final nail in the coffin, but I would say it is a copy of some sort. Here's why:

Take a good look at the serial stamp on this "Artisan"


Now look a the one on the "LP" from the OP
rockstar232007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Les Paul

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on My Les Paul Forums
   
Old 11-02-2009, 06:55 PM   #32 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
Boleskinehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Next to Raleighwood
Posts: 17,799
Thanks: 63
Thanked 506 Times in 90 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Boleskinehouse
Re: is this a fake?

Yeah, I already pointed that out.
__________________
Boleskinehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:51 PM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
xguitardevilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Maybe it's a real neck that somone put on a non Gibson crafted body?
__________________
Equipment:
'96 Gibson Les Paul Standard Cherry Sunburst
'95 Fender American Standard Strat Vintage Sunburst
'72 Epiphone acoustic
Marshall JCM 900 amp head
Marshall MG100HDFX amp head
Roland Micro Cube (tiny thing screams!!)

"Keep it heavy, keep it metal"
check out my music at www.myspace.com/deadmosh777
xguitardevilx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 12:25 AM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 230
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Not worth the risk though
__________________
The Jonas Brothers + 1959 Burst = the Apocalypse
LPinmydreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 03:49 AM   #35 (permalink)
ces
Senior Member
 
ces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Berkeley
Posts: 314
Thanks: 14
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

this is a lot of discussion to "maybe" warn potential buyers...

so OP, did you warn them it may be fake or not?
__________________
CES-ONE
Strong Foundation
www.independentdistro.com
Thizz Entertainment
www.myspace.com/thizz
Wash House Music
http://washhouse.biz/
www.myspace.com/washhousemusic
Perfection Records
http://perfectionrecords.com

c'mon in...
ces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 08:26 AM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
duane v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

.......... It looks legit.....

The only theory I can think of, is that maybe this guitar was a custom order for a non-compensated bridge, and somewhere in the guitars life it was switched to a compensated bridge style, (which would explain the current bridge angle). And a tech installing the stop tail a bit far back....

The neck is a 3 piece and so is the top layer of the body, which is consistent with 76 to 81 Les Pauls. The headstock shape looks very Norlin like from the mid to late 70's.

Sure would like to see if the headstock has a volute... But nevertheless I'm 99.9% sure it's legit.
duane v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 10:46 AM   #37 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
xguitardevilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

The only problem with your theory duane is that after 1975 Gibson stopped doing custom order Standards and when they did do custom order Standards in the early 70's you had only 2 finish options and this was not one of them.
__________________
Equipment:
'96 Gibson Les Paul Standard Cherry Sunburst
'95 Fender American Standard Strat Vintage Sunburst
'72 Epiphone acoustic
Marshall JCM 900 amp head
Marshall MG100HDFX amp head
Roland Micro Cube (tiny thing screams!!)

"Keep it heavy, keep it metal"
check out my music at www.myspace.com/deadmosh777
xguitardevilx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:28 AM   #38 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
duane v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xguitardevilx View Post
The only problem with your theory duane is that after 1975 Gibson stopped doing custom order Standards and when they did do custom order Standards in the early 70's you had only 2 finish options and this was not one of them.
Actually Gibson was accepting custom orders and one-offs with no minimums on a regular basis until the Kalamazoo plant was closed down.
duane v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:29 AM   #39 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
Boleskinehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Next to Raleighwood
Posts: 17,799
Thanks: 63
Thanked 506 Times in 90 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Boleskinehouse
Re: is this a fake?

Yeah, If you have the money, they have always done custom orders.
__________________
Boleskinehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:30 AM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
xguitardevilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by duane v View Post
Actually Gibson was accepting custom orders and one-offs with no minimums on a regular basis until the Kalamazoo plant was closed down.
Really? To my understanding they stopped in '75 and started making production LP's again in '76.
__________________
Equipment:
'96 Gibson Les Paul Standard Cherry Sunburst
'95 Fender American Standard Strat Vintage Sunburst
'72 Epiphone acoustic
Marshall JCM 900 amp head
Marshall MG100HDFX amp head
Roland Micro Cube (tiny thing screams!!)

"Keep it heavy, keep it metal"
check out my music at www.myspace.com/deadmosh777
xguitardevilx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:33 AM   #41 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
Boleskinehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Next to Raleighwood
Posts: 17,799
Thanks: 63
Thanked 506 Times in 90 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Boleskinehouse
Re: is this a fake?

Yes, but they would still do custom orders. Always have. And there are '74 and '75 Standards..
__________________
Boleskinehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:34 AM   #42 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
xguitardevilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Gotchya, I'm learning a bit more new things today.
__________________
Equipment:
'96 Gibson Les Paul Standard Cherry Sunburst
'95 Fender American Standard Strat Vintage Sunburst
'72 Epiphone acoustic
Marshall JCM 900 amp head
Marshall MG100HDFX amp head
Roland Micro Cube (tiny thing screams!!)

"Keep it heavy, keep it metal"
check out my music at www.myspace.com/deadmosh777
xguitardevilx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 12:32 PM   #43 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
duane v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boleskinehouse View Post
Yeah, If you have the money, they have always done custom orders.
From what I've heard, now you must have a 25 unit minimum..... Can anyone confirm this?
duane v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 12:48 PM   #44 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
Boleskinehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Next to Raleighwood
Posts: 17,799
Thanks: 63
Thanked 506 Times in 90 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Boleskinehouse
Re: is this a fake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by duane v View Post
From what I've heard, now you must have a 25 unit minimum..... Can anyone confirm this?
Not exactly true... The are certain "Super Dealers" that will get just about anything you want. I'm pretty sure that's only limited to finishes and hardware choice though.
__________________
Boleskinehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:58 PM   #45 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
rockstar232007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: is this a fake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boleskinehouse View Post
Yeah, I already pointed that out.
Oh! Sorry!
rockstar232007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fake guitars and fake players Cookie-boy The Backstage 108 11-02-2009 07:47 PM
Craigslist Gibson Flying V - fake? 1/2 fake? atheos Online Auctions 7 10-28-2009 12:32 PM
Fake Down-under? 10guitars Online Auctions 28 03-10-2009 05:11 AM
Fake? Zyl Epiphone Les Pauls 13 01-12-2009 11:00 AM
Is this a fake? Help please! Axeman-FTC Epiphone Les Pauls 17 07-02-2008 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Find us on Facebook!   Find us on MySpace!   Follow us on Twitter!

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Our Network: Marshall Amp Forum | Music Gear Forum | 7 String Guitar Forum