Les Paul Forums
Homepage - Sponsors - Subscription - Auctions - Advertise - Spy  

Go Back   Les Paul Forums > The Les Paul > Gibson Les Pauls
Click to visit LuthierTalk.com   LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter
  

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bing17

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-23-2012, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
thexmadxtopxhatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 9
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Fake ebay ad

I guess this is a "fake" ebay ad. I dont know whether the seller is misinformed or lying to just scam people for a little extra money, but this is obviously a modern les paul classic that he's advertising as a 1967 les paul. Obviously a misleading ad and we need to report this before someone loses thousands over this.

1967 Gibson Les Paul Classic | eBay
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/thexwildxguitarist/videos
My youtube channel (all guitar covers)
thexmadxtopxhatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Les Paul

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Les Paul Forums
   
Unread 05-23-2012, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Bing17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere Between Hollywood and Hell
Posts: 1,772
Thanks: 25
Thanked 26 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by thexmadxtopxhatter View Post
I guess this is a "fake" ebay ad. I dont know whether the seller is misinformed or lying to just scam people for a little extra money, but this is obviously a modern les paul classic that he's advertising as a 1967 les paul. Obviously a misleading ad and we need to report this before someone loses thousands over this.

1967 Gibson Les Paul Classic | eBay
There's nothing fake about the guitar other than the listing, which obviously the seller is unaware of since he's only asking $1000 (which is a good price for a classic).
__________________
a boat.
Bing17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2012, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
thexmadxtopxhatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 9
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Yeah i guess. I'll make the seller aware. They have 100% feedback so that's a good sign
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/thexwildxguitarist/videos
My youtube channel (all guitar covers)
thexmadxtopxhatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2012, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Bing17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere Between Hollywood and Hell
Posts: 1,772
Thanks: 25
Thanked 26 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by thexmadxtopxhatter View Post
Yeah i guess. I'll make the seller aware. They have 100% feedback so that's a good sign
I wrote the seller.
__________________
a boat.
Bing17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2012, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Bartlett Retrospec Member
 
lucidspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bing17 View Post
There's nothing fake about the guitar other than the listing, which obviously the seller is unaware of since he's only asking $1000 (which is a good price for a classic).
Thea still over 4 days left on the auction. No point int judging the price until the last day and usually the last couple hours.
__________________
Guitar
Gibson Les Paul Studio '50s Tribute Gold Top Humbucker
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Silverburst
Fender JA-90 Telecaster Ebony Transparent
Aria Pro II TA-50
Pedal
Boss SD-1
Amps
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Marshall Class5 Head
Blackstar HT Studio 20H
Vox Valvetronix VT20+
Cabinets
Marshall MC412 w/ Stock Celestion Rocket 50s
Blackstar HTV-212 w/ Stock Celestion Seventy 80s
lucidspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2012, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Bartlett Retrospec Member
 
politenessman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: nyc (lamf)
Posts: 1,804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

love how the trc is on upside down.
__________________
2011 traditional 1960 tea burst throbaks
2011 studio a.w./ebony board wcr's
2008 fender amer standard strat hss
vox ac15c1
peavey delta blues 115
maxon ad9 pro analog delay
turbo tuner
throbak stone bender
teese rmc wheels of fire wah
timmy v2
throbak strangemaster
politenessman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 01:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Latearrival's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warwickshire, England
Posts: 887
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

What's going on with the 5th picture? The scuff marks are in a different place to the 4th, and seem to go over the control cavity cover!
Latearrival is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 01:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Bing17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere Between Hollywood and Hell
Posts: 1,772
Thanks: 25
Thanked 26 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidspoon View Post
Thea still over 4 days left on the auction. No point int judging the price until the last day and usually the last couple hours.
My point was the seller wasn't asking a fortune. I know how auctions work.
Shawn Lutz likes this.
__________________
a boat.
Bing17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 05:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
RichBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dorsetshire (UK)
Posts: 1,751
Thanks: 125
Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Latearrival View Post
What's going on with the 5th picture? The scuff marks are in a different place to the 4th, and seem to go over the control cavity cover!
That would appear to be the overhead lighting being reflected in the back for the different shots.

RichBrew
RichBrew is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 05:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Lipinhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 577
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

67? Nashville bridge?
Werent the LP reintroduced in 68?
Lipinhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 06:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Rock City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Novi Sad
Posts: 771
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: Fake ebay ad

Nothing wrong with the good old Classic. Except the owner beat the helluva it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lipinhu View Post
67? Nashville bridge?
Werent the LP reintroduced in 68?
How can you tell it's Nashville without looking a side? Really, just curious... is it wider/narrower than ABR?
Rock City is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 06:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
TKOjams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 9,548
Thanks: 92
Thanked 177 Times in 54 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Love the shoes

TKOjams is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 07:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ctkarslake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: lakewood,OH
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 36
Thanked 7 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

How can you tell it's Nashville without looking a side? Really, just curious... is it wider/narrower than ABR?[/QUOTE]

Nashville bridges are WIDER than ABR-1 bridges. Once you know the difference, you can tell right off regardless of the photo angle. Also, the intonation adjusting screws are towards the tail piece on a Nashville, not towards the pick up (like on an ABR-1 bridge).
__________________
2007 LP R7 Ebony w/factory bigsby, Gloss
2005 LP R8 Plaintop, washed cherry sunburst, Gloss
2003 LP Elegant Quiltop, butterscotch, Gloss
2001 LP Standard, Raw Power, Satin
1998 LP R8 Flametop, vintage red, Gloss
1997 LP R8 Plaintop, vintage red w/factory bigsby,Gloss
1965 Hagstrom II, baby blue

Marshall AVT50H+4x12CAB
Epiphone Valve Jr.
ctkarslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 07:53 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Rock City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Novi Sad
Posts: 771
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: Fake ebay ad

Thanks! I've only got ABR-1 so I can not compare to other
Rock City is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2012, 09:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
JOC
Senior Member
 
JOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Fake ebay ad

Looks like a beat up version of my 1999 Classic:



Although the S/N looks odd and the case is different. Will be interesting to see what it goes for.
JOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook   FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter

Our Network: Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Marshall Amp Forum | Music Gear Forum | 7 String Guitar Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

MyLesPaul proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2006-2013, MyLesPaul.com. All Rights Reserved.