Les Paul Forums
Homepage - Sponsors - Subscription - Auctions - Advertise - Spy  

Go Back   Les Paul Forums > Buy, Sell or Trade > eBay Deals
Click to visit LuthierTalk.com   LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter
  

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-28-2012, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another fake!

I emailed the seller of this Silverburst for more pictures because the split diamond on the headstock looked fake to me.

He sends me a multimedia message from boostmobile.com showing a picture of the back of the headstock. The serial number was 02005564. The classic fake serial number.

Here's the pic of the headstock that he sent to me:

Here's the listing:

Gibson Les Paul Custom Electric Guitar

Last edited by SASouth; 05-28-2012 at 05:53 PM.
SASouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Les Paul

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Les Paul Forums
   
Unread 05-28-2012, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Another fake!

I've been emailing the seller and he may not know he's been scammed. He says he bought it direct from Gibson. I sent him the Fibsons URL.

Stay tuned. We'll see what he comes with.
SASouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Another fake!

He now says:

"I got it from a Gibson shop in Houston on Bellaire street. It's a pretty popular shop in Houston so I would be suprised if they sold fakes."

When I pressed him further to look at the links that I sent to him he replied:

"I did, you my be right i dont really know. Thanks for the heads up though. Appreciate it."

So then I tell him that he should take the ad down and it was illegal to sell counterfeits and he might want to pursue legal action against the shop in Houston. This was his reply:

"I might just keep it and practice with it. My whole reason for selling it was because its so exspensive, and I could learn to play with a less exspensive guitar. But I may just keep it and practice with it. Im not into all of the history of the Les Paul or anything like that. Counterfeit or not it's a great guitar so i'll more than likely just keep it."

What do you guys think? Did he know from the start that his guitar was a fake? He was asking $3000. As of right now his ad is still up.
SASouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Fabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Another fake!

Cough-Cough*Bullshit*Cough
Fabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Another fake!

I know. I was trying to give the guy the benefit of the doubt.
SASouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
BillB1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stumptown
Posts: 15,926
Thanks: 236
Thanked 236 Times in 92 Posts
Re: Another fake!

Just post an ad calling it out as a fake a be done with it. He won't listen to you and he's still trying to troll for a sucker.
__________________
Gibson LP Classic Antique Fireburst GOTW #2 Bolt Electric Vintage P'ups
Gibson LP G0 Darkburst GuitarForce LOTB P'ups
Gibson LP Special TV Yellow Fralin P-90s
Gibson Limited Edition Flying V 57 Classics
Fender Limited Edition Strat
Fender American Ash 8502 Telecaster
Fender Bullet Deluxe S2
Ibanez AR-250 SD Phat Cats
Epiphone DR500M Masterbilt
Epiphone 58 Reissue Korina Flying V


"It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to"
BillB1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 07:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Thumpalumpacus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ass-deep in alligators, tryin' to drain the swamp.
Posts: 54,332
Thanks: 1,208
Thanked 688 Times in 80 Posts
Re: Another fake!

Did you report the ad?
__________________
_____________________________________________

My Soundcloud
Thumpalumpacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 07:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
V.I.P. Member
 
HOT-BRIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 18,967
Thanks: 69
Thanked 280 Times in 52 Posts
Re: Another fake!

Just report it
HOT-BRIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2012, 10:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
BillB1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stumptown
Posts: 15,926
Thanks: 236
Thanked 236 Times in 92 Posts
Re: Another fake!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumpalumpacus View Post
Did you report the ad?
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT-BRIT View Post
Just report it
All you can really do is flag it and it takes multiple flags from unique IPs to get it flagged down.
__________________
Gibson LP Classic Antique Fireburst GOTW #2 Bolt Electric Vintage P'ups
Gibson LP G0 Darkburst GuitarForce LOTB P'ups
Gibson LP Special TV Yellow Fralin P-90s
Gibson Limited Edition Flying V 57 Classics
Fender Limited Edition Strat
Fender American Ash 8502 Telecaster
Fender Bullet Deluxe S2
Ibanez AR-250 SD Phat Cats
Epiphone DR500M Masterbilt
Epiphone 58 Reissue Korina Flying V


"It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to"
BillB1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2012, 07:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Guitarded
 
McDegga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 727
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Another fake!

Dudes, there's no way someone learning to play is going to spend the cake on that beautiful guitar and not go bat sh*t crazazy upon learning that it's a fake. I buy a guitar from a reputable store and find out it's a fake? I'm on my way back there with piss and vinegar in my veins and you can bet your bottom dollar that my money would be returned. I'm also sure that Gibson wouldn't stand for someone selling their guitars (authorized dealer) pasing off fakes as real. It just smacks as bull to me. Also, he seems pretty cool with spending the money he supposedly spent on a fake. Again, not a shot.

This is just BS.
McDegga is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2012, 08:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Woderwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mid Sussex UK
Posts: 241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Another fake!

I am always dubious of poorly lit fuzzy pics, but from that pic somedodgy things stand out.
1. The washers/ferrels around the bottom of the machine pegs look too big for a genuine job.
2. The volume and tone pots don't look like they are aligned parallel, that's usually a give away.
3. Poorly aligned machines, ditto
__________________
78MIJYam SG500
79USA Strat
79MIJ SG400
79MIJ SG1000
81MIJ Ibanez AS200
81MIJ SG400
81Home Made LP
89 MSG Image
91MIM Tele
96MIT Yam FG441s acoustic
96MIT Yam FG441s-12
98MIJ SG2000
00MIJ SG3000
00MIK Epi cherry SG
03MIJ SG700
04MIK Epi Es1275 Double Neck Cherry
04MIK Epi Joe Pass
07Nat Delphi
08Nat 0 14 fret
09MIJ Takemine EF261
10MI? Vintage Lemon Drop BK PG Blues pups.
10USA Custom Shop ES 175
11USA Custom Shop VOS 60s LP
11USA LP Studio '60s tribute
12 Cremona

Last edited by Woderwick; 05-29-2012 at 09:17 AM.
Woderwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


LIKE MyLesPaul on Facebook   FOLLOW MyLesPaul on Twitter

Our Network: Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Marshall Amp Forum | Music Gear Forum | 7 String Guitar Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

MyLesPaul proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2006-2013, MyLesPaul.com. All Rights Reserved.